Skip to content

Hazelnut Browned Butter Cornmeal Waffles

May 13, 2012

Sometimes I wonder if I should move somewhere sunnier, somewhere warmer year-round. Something comes over me when the sun is shining and the skies are endless blue. I rise extra-early, there is no dread when getting out of bed early on a Sunday morning, only anticipation. There is so much to be done on a sunny day! Perhaps if I lived somewhere like Southern California or Hawaii I would be more productive all the time.

But then, I think I’m so excited by sun because I build up so much hope for it during the long gray months of fall and winter in the Pacific Northwest. If I didn’t endure the dreariness, I wouldn’t yearn so much for the sunniness. The excitement wouldn’t be so great.

I woke up at 7am. On Sunday morning. I made myself waffles. If my sister wasn’t already disgusted with me after last weekend’s early-morning scone baking, I’m sure she is now. But I got to have freshly baked waffles for breakfast this morning! And I had an early escapade to the farmers market, belly full, and filled my shopping bag with fresh produce (stay tuned for a rhubarb recipe!). These Hazelnut Browned Butter Cornmeal Waffles are so satisfying, I’m still stuffed some five hours later. Hooray for whole grains and crunchy nuts!

There are so many great things about these waffles. The crunch of the hazelnuts and cornmeal, the popcorn-like flavor of the browned butter, the fluffy inner layer. Just lightly sweet on their own, these waffles are fantastic topped with some jam or berry compote. Or do it the Oregonian way and pour over some marionberry syrup, hazelnut’s perfect companion.

Hazelnut Browned Butter Cornmeal Waffles

Ā© Copyright 2012 Carly Sullivan, Tart to Heart

Yield: about 7 waffles (will depend on the size/shape of your waffle iron)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 cup yellow cornmeal
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 cups buttermilk
  • 2 eggs, separated
  • 3 Tbsp honey
  • 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter
  • 1/3 cup hazelnuts, finely chopped

Directions

  1. In a small skillet or saucepan, melt the butter until it fizzes and pops and turns a lovely golden brown. Remove from the heat and stir in the chopped hazelnuts. Set aside to cool.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the flour, cornmeal, baking powder and soda, and salt.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together the buttermilk, egg yolks, and honey.
  4. In another small bowl or a mixer, whip the egg whites until firm but not dry. They should hold their shape when you lift out the whisk.
  5. Add the milk mixture to the dry ingredients and stir to combine. Add the cooled butter and hazelnuts and fold into the batter. Then add half your egg whites and gently fold into the batter, followed by the other half. Be careful not to over mix or you will deflate the whites. It’s okay if there are a few streaks of egg white showing.
  6. Heat your waffle iron. Lightly grease with cooking spray, then ladle on the batter in the center of the iron by the 1/2-cup-full. Close the top and cook about 4 minutes, until there is no more steam coming out the sides. The iron should release easily when the lid is lifted.
  7. Continue with remaining batter. I like to store the cooked waffles on a cooling rack as I make the others to keep them crisp. Serve yourself a waffle with your topping of choice and enjoy!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2012 6:28 pm

    These look good — perfect with that berry syrup.

  2. May 13, 2012 7:57 pm

    those look so good! the perfect waffle to make mom on mothers day!

  3. May 13, 2012 8:07 pm

    Breakfast has come and gone, so I might have to make those for dinner. Would that be so wrong? Yum.

  4. Edie permalink
    May 13, 2012 9:40 pm

    This is a very creative and yummy sounding recipe. And don’t forget that left over waffles can be frozen and reheated in the toaster.

    • May 13, 2012 10:04 pm

      Yep, the rest were put in a ziploc in the freezer for future breakfasts šŸ™‚

  5. May 14, 2012 9:33 am

    Those look great. They look as though they have a really appealing texture.

  6. June 12, 2012 12:10 pm

    It looks definitly awsome… We want this waffles šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

