Skip to content

Maple-Glazed Bacon Blue Cornbread

April 20, 2012

This cornbread is just ridiculous. Ridiculously good. Amazing, really. Incredible.

Am I going overboard here? You tell me after you bake a batch of this Maple-Glazed Bacon Blue Cornbread and take a bite. You tell me if you can stop yourself from devouring your first corner piece in 30 seconds flat. I couldn’t. Maybe I’m weak.

I bought the blue cornmeal I used in this cornbread during a visit to Bob’s Red Mill, a.k.a. baker’s paradise. Bins and bins of flours, grains, nuts, beans, sugars and pasta even, all at your disposal. Just scoop however much you desire into a plastic bag, twist it up, and take it home (after paying, of course). I was stocking up on my favorites (whole wheat pastry flour, oat flour, rolled oats) when this beautiful blue hue caught my eye. I wasn’t sure what I would do with it, but I had to bring some home with me.

So when I cooked up a big pot of spicy braised pork and was craving some cornbread to sop up the juices, I had this little bag of blue cornmeal still waiting in my pantry, at the ready. But you know me. I couldn’t just make a simple pan of cornbread. I had to gild the lily…with bacon…and maple syrup.

The bacon is crisped in a pan, then folded into the browned-butter and buttermilk-laden batter. After it’s baked up, maple syrup is brushed over the top, then the pan goes under to broiler to turn it into a golden glaze. Tender yet toothsome, crumbly, tangy, smoky and sweet. It’s going to hit the spot no matter what you’re craving, no matter the time of day. Serve it alongside over easy eggs, ready to soak up the yolks, eat it with slices of cheese and meat for a midday meal, or dip it in a bowl of chili or soup to end the day right.

Maple-Glazed Bacon Blue Cornbread

© Copyright 2012 Carly Sullivan, Tart to Heart

Serves: 6-9

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup blue cornmeal
  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/4 cups buttermilk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter
  • 4 Tbsp maple syrup, divided
  • 2-3 strips bacon, diced

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400°F.
  2. In a small saute pan, cook the bacon on medium heat until crisp. Use some of the bacon drippings to grease a 9×9-inch baking pan (why not?). Drain the bacon and set aside.
  3. Meanwhile, melt the butter in a small pot, letting it sizzle and pop until it’s dark golden brown in color. Set aside.
  4. In a large mixing bowl, combine the cornmeal, flour, baking powder and salt.
  5. In a separate bowl, whisk together the buttermilk, eggs, browned butter and 2 Tbsp of the maple syrup.
  6. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and stir until smooth. Add the bacon and stir to distribute.
  7. Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake until lightly golden and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, about 15-20 minutes. Remove from the oven and turn on the broiler.
  8. Brush the remaining 2 Tbsp of maple syrup over the surface of the cornbread. Place the pan under the broiler and cook until the maple is bubbly and golden, about 1 minutes (watch it carefully!). Remove from the oven and cool at least 10 minutes. Cut off a piece and enjoy!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2012 9:08 pm

    Wow, I don’t eat meat..but even I think this looks amazing!

  2. Edie permalink
    April 21, 2012 7:55 am

    This one is really ridiculously amazing. Be great for breakfast too.
    You are so creative!

  3. April 22, 2012 5:51 pm

    YUM!!!

  4. April 25, 2012 3:18 am

    That looks amazing! I’m really intrigued by the blue cornmeal, as I’ve never seen it before – I don’t know if it exists here – it’s such a lovely colour! Does it taste the same as normal cornmeal?

    • April 25, 2012 7:56 pm

      Blue cornmeal tastes like yellow cornmeal, it’s just from a different colored kernel. You could definitely use regular cornmeal in this recipe if you can’t find blue.

      • April 26, 2012 2:45 pm

        Ah ok, well that’s good to know if I can’t find any blue cornmeal! Although I think I’ll keep looking, just for the colour!

Leave a Reply

