Skip to content

Coconut Ginger Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

March 5, 2012

I’m not like most people. I like to eat ice cream when it’s cold out. When it’s hot, ice cream just melts, collecting an unsatisfying pool of cream in the bottom of your dish or dripping down your cone and onto your hand. No thank you. I like ice cream frozen, and when it’s cold out, it tends to stay that way a little longer. You can slow down and enjoy it a little more.

Even so, the blue skies and sunshine yesterday got me thinking about pulling that ice cream maker out of hibernation. It seemed the perfect excuse to try a new ice cream making method: using cornstarch to thicken the custard instead of eggs. Mark Bittman showcased this method for the New York Times several years ago and I recently stumbled upon the video. No eggs means no careful tempering, no risk of scrambling, and a much lighter ice cream in the end.

That’s right you guys, this creamy, dreamy Coconut Ginger Chocolate Chip Ice Cream is actually low fat! I used light coconut milk and skim milk for the base, thickened it with a cornstarch slurry, and churned it into a tasty treat you can indulge in with little guilt. I’ll definitely be trying more flavors using this method!

Coconut Ginger Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

© Copyright 2012 Carly Sullivan, Tart to Heart

adapted from Mark Bittman

Yield: 1 generous pint

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups skim milk (you can use any milk you like– the more fat the richer it will be)
  • 1 cup light coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • pinch of salt
  • 3 Tbsp cornstarch
  • 1 oz milk chocolate, finely chopped (or any chocolate you like)

Directions:

  1. Combine 1 cup skim milk and the coconut milk in a medium saucepan. Add the sugar and ginger and whisk to combine. Bring to a simmer over medium heat, stirring occasionally.
  2. Meanwhile, whisk together the remaining 1/2 cup milk with the cornstarch until dissolved. When the milk comes to a simmer, whisk in the cornstarch slurry. Bring the mixture to a boil, stirring occasionally, until it thickens. It should coat the back of a spoon.
  3. Pour the mixture into a bowl or dish and cover with plastic wrap touching the entire surface. Place in the refrigerator and chill until no longer warm.

  4. Place the cooled custard in your ice cream maker and add the chopped chocolate. Churn the mixture until frozen according to your ice cream maker’s instructions. Either eat immediately for a soft, creamy treat or place in a container and freeze until firm. Enjoy!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2012 6:27 pm

    So festive looking. Looks great.

  2. March 5, 2012 9:55 pm

    After I finished reading your post, I immediately went to Amazon.com to check out ice cream machines. I’ve been wondering about a way to make a lighter ice cream without eggs, and this looks delicious. Thanks for sharing!

  3. March 5, 2012 10:43 pm

    This makes me wish I had an ice cream maker! Yum!

  4. March 6, 2012 12:50 am

    This flavour combination sounds amazing! I don’t have an ice cream maker but might give it a go with hand churning!

  5. March 6, 2012 12:56 am

    I don’t really care if it’s hot or cold… it always gets eaten before it has melted… :D. This one would too, I’m sure. It sounds really delicious. I must invest in an ice cream machine… I must.

  6. March 6, 2012 4:53 am

    Tasty. Wonder if fresh grated ginger would work too? I’ve been experimenting with ginger lately. Loved it in some cookies I made!

    • March 6, 2012 8:34 am

      I bet fresh ginger would be fantastic. It will have a bit more kick to it 🙂

  7. March 11, 2012 10:51 am

    Brilliant. This looks delicious! Just got my ice cream maker down off the top of a cupboard for a dusting. Stumbled across this at the perfect time! Think I’ll make a batch and eat myself ill…

Trackbacks

  1. A Chilled Welcome to Spring « Foods for the Soul
  2. Strawberries 'n Cream Ice Cream | Foods for the Soul

Leave a Reply

