Skip to content

Bittersweet Chocolate, Sea Salt & Rosemary Focaccia

February 25, 2012

I’m a bit of a baby when I get sick. I can get kind of whiny. But when you live alone, there’s no one to whine to except your sister over a series of text messages begging her to bring you soup. Pathetic. And when you’re stuck in a house without much to eat besides half a carton of ice cream and some raw broccoli, you have to improvise. Luckily, mix some flour with some water, yeast, and salt and TA-DAH! Bread.

One of the simplest breads to make, yet without a doubt one of the tastiest and most-loved breads out there, is focaccia. A simple dough, left to rise, then pressed out into an oiled pan with no tool but your fingertips, topped with your heart’s desire and baked to chewy, golden deliciousness. Sounds like the perfect cure to the common cold.

Since I had approximately 0 hours to bake something for this month’s We Should Cocoa challenge, I decided to try something new. Our challenge this month was to make something savory with chocolate, so why not throw some into my focaccia dough? It seemed perfectly logical. My former coworker often make a snack of baguette with butter, chocolate and salt and it was fantastic. I assure you this focaccia is just as wonderful, no matter how bizarre it sounds. Oh yeah, and I added some rosemary. Did I mention that?

Bittersweet Chocolate, Sea Salt & Rosemary Focaccia

Yield: 1 pan

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups warm water
  • 2 Tbsp sugar
  • 1 Tbsp active dry yeast
  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/2- 2 cups rye flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 oz bittersweet chocolate, chopped
  • 1 Tbsp fresh rosemary, finely chopped
  • Coarse salt and olive oil, for finishing

Directions:

  1. In a mixing bowl, combine the warm water, sugar and yeast and whisk until dissolved. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap or a towel and let sit 10 minutes until frothy.
  2. Add the whole wheat flour to the yeast mixture and whisk until combined. Cover again and let sit another 10 minutes until bubbly.
  3. Add the mixture to the bowl of your stand mixer fitted with the dough hook. Add the salt and 1 cup of the rye flour and mix on medium speed, adding more flour as necessary until the dough forms a soft ball that’s still fairly sticky. Knead with the mixer for 5 minutes.
  4. Add the chopped chocolate to the dough and knead until evenly distributed throughout. Place the dough in a well-oiled bowl, cover with a towel and let proof in a warm spot until doubled in size, about 1 hour.
  5. Liberally grease a 9×13-inch pan with olive oil. Place the dough in the pan and use your greased fingers to press the dough out to the edges of the pan. Brush the top with more olive oil, top with the rosemary and a generous sprinkling of coarse salt. Let the dough rise while the oven preheats to 400°F.
  6. Bake until golden brown and the interior of the bread reaches 200°F, about 15 minutes. Let cool for 10 minutes before tearing off a piece. Enjoy!

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2012 4:02 pm

    For some reason bread is calling me today. I picked up a french loaf at the store because it just came out of the oven and smelled oh so good:) Thanks for sharing!

  2. February 25, 2012 4:26 pm

    I love this! What an interesting combination!

  3. February 25, 2012 4:29 pm

    My goodness these look delicious!

  4. February 25, 2012 4:52 pm

    My 16 year old daughter is sitting next to me saying “oh my goodness” “you have to make this” over and over again….

  5. February 25, 2012 6:36 pm

    That looks delectable. I have a bit of a weakness for focaccia and I have been itching to bake some bread for the past month and a half so…I think I might just give this one a go.

  6. February 25, 2012 7:42 pm

    I can’t wait to try this. I hope you feel better!

  7. February 26, 2012 6:39 am

    This sounds and looks wonderful! It’s funny – I just made a rosemary and sea salt fougasse (A French version of focaccia). It is delicious and I’m sure the addition of chocolate here must be inspired- great recipe! You have a great inventive streak, clearly. 😀

  8. February 26, 2012 1:29 pm

    Hope you’re feeling better now. Love the sound of your focaccia and yes, yes, yes to the rosemary. It looks totally gorgeous – you’re photos always do. Thanks for the entry.

  9. February 27, 2012 3:47 pm

    Wow – rye, rosemary and chocolate – that’s a wonderful combination. I don’t think it sounds bizarre at all. I hope you’re feeling as bright as a button again.

  10. February 27, 2012 11:49 pm

    excellent combination

  11. March 11, 2012 10:32 am

    love the idea of bittersweet chocolate in savoury bread. doesn’t chocolate make everything better?

Leave a Reply

