Skip to content

5-Grain Iced Oatmeal Cookies

February 13, 2012

In my last post, I got a bit nostalgic, waxing poetic about one of my favorite foods and the memories it conjures. Bear with me, I might just do that again. But this time, I’m not reminiscing about a much-missed locale. This time, I’m talking about an era– those carefree childhood years.

I grew up eating delicious food, but not necessarily healthy food. Sorry, Mom, but you know we ate a few too many croissants and coffee cakes than was probably good for us. My whole family has evolved their eating habits since then, and though I may have eaten a Pop Tart for breakfast my first two years of college, I could never imagine buying a box now. That’s not to say I don’t sometimes crave those once-loved childhood treats, like those little cookies with a Hershey Kiss in the middle, those orange-swirled popcicles, or those frosted and sprinkled animal crackers.

While looking for a quick cookie to make and bring to a friend’s house, I came across the recipe for Iced Oatmeal Cookies in Kim Boyce’s Good to the Grain. Not only is the recipe 100% whole grain (with a total of 5 grains to boot), the description compares these cookies to those made by Mother’s brand in those crinkly red-and-purple-striped plastic bags. My own mom, unable to eat chocolate, always favored oatmeal cookies growing up, and I remember crunching through a bag of these cookies with her. These cookies are extra crisp, lightly spiced with cinnamon and nutmeg, and beautifully drizzled with a sweet glaze. They completely satisfied your childhood sweet tooth. Thanks Kim!

Next step, recreate those ridiculously naughty streusel and jam topped sugary coffee cakes from the grocery store. My sister knows what I’m talking about.

Iced Oatmeal Cookies

from Kim Boyce’s Good to the Grain

Yield: about 3 dozen cookies

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup oat flour
  • 1/2 cup barley flour
  • 1/4 cup millet flour
  • 1/4 cup rye flour
  • 1 Tbsp plus 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp kosher salt (or 1 tsp table salt)
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, melted
  • 2 eggs

Glaze:

  • 2 1/4 cups powdered sugar
  • 5-6 Tbsp milk
  • 1 Tbsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp salt

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F and grease several baking sheets.
  2. In a food processor, grind the rolled oats to a coarse meal with a few larger flakes.
  3. Combine the ground oats and the remaining dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl.
  4. In a separate bowl, combine the melted butter and eggs. Add to the dry ingredients and mix with a large spoon until the dough comes together (you might need to use your hands a bit to get all of the flour incorporated).
  5. Scoop the dough by 2-tablespoon-fulls onto the greased baking sheet, leaving two inches between each cookie. Flatten each ball of dough slightly.
  6. Bake the cookies until evenly golden brown over the entire surface, about 12 minutes. Remove immediately to a wire rack to cool and continue baking the rest of the dough.
  7. While the cookies cool, whisk together the glaze ingredients until smooth. Use a spoon to drizzle the glaze over the cooled cookies. Let the glaze set for about 10 minutes, until dry to the tough. Enjoy!

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2012 4:46 pm

    These look yummy!

  2. Edie permalink
    February 14, 2012 6:32 am

    As your mother I just want to say that I must have done something right food-wise to have you turn out to be such a fantastic baker (and person!) I DID love those Mother’s cookies.
    Happy Valentine’s Day!

  3. February 15, 2012 6:22 am

    yummy!!

  4. February 17, 2012 12:45 pm

    Whoa, iced oatmeal cookies? I haven’t had one since I was a kid. Can’t wait to try these. I’ve been on a cookbook buying freeze (my bookshelf runneth over), but I’ve heard “Good to the Grain” is fantastic–might have to break down and get it now.

  5. February 22, 2012 1:15 pm

    I’m in love with oatmeal cookies, and these look delish!

  6. May 18, 2012 7:29 pm

    Do these come out crunchy like Mother’s? We are always trying to make brown and crunchy oatmeal cookies.

  7. May 18, 2012 8:56 pm

    Yes! They are crunchy just like Mother’s!

Leave a Reply

