Skip to content

Chaidoodles

January 10, 2012

I fell in love with chai in Ireland, and it was a complete accident. My friend Katie was already fast friends with the spicy sweet beverage and ordered one at the local cafe to enjoy while we perused the shops. But she was disappointed. The barista had mistakenly added coffee to her chai latte. Disgusted, Katie handed the drink off to me, and I adored it. I spent the rest of my time in Ireland ordering “dirty chai” lattes (chai with espresso added) every morning on the way to work. The exotic combination of sultry spices will warm you up even on the rainiest of days.

You know what else warms you up on rainy days? Cookies. So of course, when the rain started pattering down on the pavement yesterday, it made perfect sense to bake up a batch of cookies, and of course it made perfect sense to flavor them like a cup of chai.

I took a standard snickerdoodle recipe and spiced it up. Instead of the typical cinnamon-sugar mixture, I combined black tea leaves, ginger, cardamom, cinnamon, cloves, and black pepper and added them to the sugar, tossing the scoops of cookie dough in the mixture before baking. The result: Chaidoodles!

P.S. I hope you haven’t started some no sugar/no carb kick for your New Year’s resolution, because I have no intention of backing off the sweets 🙂

Chaidoodles

© Copyright 2012 Carly Sullivan, Tart to Heart

Yield: 18 cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 cup barley flour
  • 2 tsp cream of tartar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
  • 2/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 bags English Breakfast tea, leaves removed
  • 1 Tbsp cinnamon
  • 1 Tbsp ground ginger
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground cardamom
  • 1 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/2 tsp ground black pepper

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F. Lightly grease two cookie sheets or line with parchment paper.
  2. Combine the flours, cream of tartar, baking soda and salt in a mixing bowl. Set aside.
  3. Meanwhile, combine the butter and sugar in the bowl of a mixer and beat until pale and fluffy. Add the honey and beat until well combined, then add the eggs one at a time and beat on high until fluffy.
  4. With the mixer on low, slowly add the flour mixture to the butter mixture. Stir until just combined.
  5. In a small bowl, combine the 1/4 cup sugar, tea leaves and spices. Scoop the cookie dough into 1 1/2-inch balls. Toss each scoop in the sugar-spice mixture, flatten slightly and place on the prepared baking sheets, leaving two inches of space between each.
  6. Bake until golden, about 10-12 minutes. Let cool 2 minutes, then remove to a wire rack to cool completely (I let one batch sit too long on the tray and they stuck, so remove them quickly). Eat with a cup of milk or a hot mug of chai. Enjoy!
9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2012 12:47 pm

    These look great! I can’t wait to figure out how to make them gluten-free. Love your blog! Keep ’em coming…

  2. January 10, 2012 1:19 pm

    I might actually like these: I like traditional snickerdoodles and I like chai, although I cannot bring myself to try “dirty chai.”

  3. January 10, 2012 1:24 pm

    Like the spices, and the tea mix:) 🙂 I am going to try these:) 🙂

  4. January 11, 2012 12:52 am

    Chaidoodles! What a great idea! When I was at university I had a roommate whose parents were from India and she taught me to make chai from her grandmother’s recipe. I only recently discovered snickerdoodles (weird, I know) but I imagine that the spicy chai flavours would be a great way to mix things up.

  5. January 11, 2012 8:17 am

    What a great spin on a classic.

  6. Kelly permalink
    January 17, 2012 12:24 pm

    I love chai and can’t wait to make these!

  7. January 17, 2012 1:37 pm

    My oh my, I love me some chai! These sound so good and simple too.

  8. February 27, 2012 11:49 pm

    i will most certainly enjoy trying these out.

Trackbacks

  1. Chai cookies « alternativeeating

Leave a Reply

