Skip to content

Hazelnut Millet Pumpkin Bread

October 25, 2011

I was tempted to call this Halloween Bread, because my first thought when I took my first bite of this bread (aside from “This is is delicious!”) was “This bread tastes like Halloween”. Perhaps some of you think of Halloween as tasting like milk chocolate and nougat and candy corn, but I think of it as pumpkins and warm spices like cinnamon and cloves.

The nutty flavor from the hazelnut meal and brown butter really makes this loaf stand out from the other pumpkin breads you’ve had. And though lacking gluten, this bread is far from being dense and dry. It’s tender and moist, but doesn’t turn into a crumbly mess when sliced, holding it’s shape for a smear of butter, a drizzle of honey or a hefty dollop of whipped cream.

If you’ve never cooked with millet, track it down and give it a try. Unlike other gluten-free grains like quinoa and amaranth, millet doesn’t have that strong grassy flavor. Millet flour is mild and sweet and wonderful in baked goods. And the whole seeds sprinkled on top of the loaf lend an unexpected (and totally fantastic) crunch. Don’t forgo them. They’re worth the treasure hunt (Bob’s Red Mill is a good place to start).

Hazelnut Millet Pumpkin Bread

© Copyright 2011 Carly Sullivan, Tart to Heart

Yield: 1 loaf

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup hazelnut meal
  • 1 cup millet flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter, browned (Let melt in a saucepan and continue to cook until the milk solids turn brown and the butter has a nutty aroma, then strain.)
  • 3 eggs
  • 2-4 Tbsp hazelnuts, chopped
  • about 1 Tbsp whole millet seeds

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F. Lightly grease a standard loaf pan and set aside.
  2. In a mixing bowl, combine the hazelnut meal, millet flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and spices.
  3. In a separate bowl whisk together the pumpkin, maple syrup, brown butter and eggs. Add to the dry ingredients and mix gently until smooth.
  4. Pour the batter into the prepared pan. Top with a sprinkle of chopped hazelnuts and whole millet seeds.
  5. Bake until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out mostly clean with just a few moist crumbs, about 50 minutes.
24 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2011 9:06 am

    This looks so good. Next time I’m up near Portland I plan to visit Bob’s Red Mill (no sales tax in Oregon and no shipping fees).

  2. October 25, 2011 9:15 am

    Fantastic, Carly! It looks incredibly delicious. I just made a loaf cake myself 😀 It’s just one of those days.

  3. October 25, 2011 9:23 am

    I so want a piece – looks so YUMMY!!! Thanks for sharing the recipe:)

  4. October 25, 2011 9:50 am

    This is just the kind of bread I’d love to bake and eat… I love the look of the nuts and seeds on top and they would get all toasty when baked 🙂

  5. October 25, 2011 10:07 am

    Love the way the hazelnuts and millets look on top. Two of my favourite flavours.

  6. October 25, 2011 12:16 pm

    Yum! That bread looks amazing!

  7. October 25, 2011 1:26 pm

    Carly, just when I was getting tired of pumpkin recipes here you are with this spin on quick bread. It looks so good! I love the crunch of millet in baked goods and am always looking for something new to shake it into. Thank you, I can’t wait to try it.

  8. October 25, 2011 7:53 pm

    Great photos and recipe!

  9. betsy permalink
    October 26, 2011 12:18 am

    That looks so good!! 🙂 miss you, wish I could try it!!

  10. A Tablespoon of Liz permalink
    October 26, 2011 7:35 am

    I love hazelnuts, this looks so good!

  11. October 29, 2011 5:50 am

    What an absolutely gorgeous pumpkin bread. I’m always looking for ways to add grains and seeds to baked goods, but I never even thought of using them with pumpkin, yet it’s so obvious. Love the hazelnuts and brown butter too! I can’t wait to try this 🙂

  12. October 29, 2011 8:48 am

    This pumpkin bread looks amazing. I have never baked with hazelnut meal before so I am really curious and excited to try it out. Quick question, since I am on a completely grain free diet, could I just use more hazelnut meal instead of the millet? Or what else would you recommend? Usually I bake with almond flour or coconut flour.

    • October 29, 2011 4:47 pm

      Thank you! I imagine you can use all hazelnut meal, though it will change the texture a bit. I’m sure it will still taste delicious! I don’t have much experience baking with coconut flour, so I’m not sure if that would be a good substitute, but you could give it a try if you’re comfortable with it. Let me know how it turns out!

  13. October 30, 2011 2:45 am

    Yum! And I just so happen to have a bag of hazelnut meal AND a bag of millet flour in my freezer, and a pile of pumpkins to roast and puree! What a coincidence, can’t wait to try this out.

  14. October 31, 2011 12:51 am

    This bread looks seriously delicious – I love the crunchy nuts on top and can imagine it’s delicious smeared with butter or made into more of a dessert with cream or stewed fruit. It looks like not just the taste of Halloween, but of autumn in general – I’ll definitely be making some soon!

  15. October 31, 2011 2:33 am

    This looks amazing!

  16. Laura permalink
    November 10, 2011 5:49 pm

    I subbed almonds for hazelnuts and honey for maple syrup, equally delicious and a bit cheaper 🙂

  17. claudia permalink
    November 21, 2011 6:50 pm

    what size can of pumpkin puree did you use?

    • claudia permalink
      November 21, 2011 6:52 pm

      oops, I see you said a cup, not a can. Now I know how much! thanks for the great recipe.

  18. peter'sgrandma permalink
    October 18, 2012 1:18 pm

    You need to know that this turned out VERY well–

    I didn’t use as much nut flour; I was low on hazelnut flour, so I used coconut flour, and you don’t need as much of that–

    coconut is very ‘thickening’–

    (the flour)

    but I did use the millet flour–

    I used 1 cup of pumpkin puree I bottled myself a few years ago–

    and I didn’t have hazelnuts to put on top, and I was too lazy to get some whole millet ‘berries’ to put on top, but otherwise I followed the recipe strictly, and it turned out extremely well–

    good recipe–

    • October 18, 2012 5:23 pm

      I’m so glad it turned out well! Did you happen to take any photos? I’d love to see 🙂

Leave a Reply

