Skip to content

Spiced Banana Quinoa Pancakes

September 16, 2011

I love pancakes. Adore them. It all started with my mom’s exquisite scratch-made buttermilk pancakes. Tender, thin, not too cakey and definitely not dry, a dollop of butter between each layer and doused with plenty of real maple syrup. Maybe some crumbled bacon on top to gild the lily. The perfect breakfast.

I love pancakes, but nothing can hide the fact that they aren’t the healthiest start to the day. Which is why I was so excited when I flipped through my King Arthur Whole Grain Baking book the other morning and saw a recipe for quinoa pancakes. Quinoa is packed with nutrition and sets itself apart from other grains by provide a complete protein punch. But would it taste good? I’ve baked with quinoa flour before, and it has a very distinctive flavor. I call it grassy. I don’t call grass good to eat.

I was pleasantly surprised. The pancakes were light and delicate, the ginger in the batter tempering the grassy notes, and they’re low in fat! I thought, Good job King Arthur…but I think I can do better! So I took the deeply spotted bananas from the fruit basket and made my own version, amping up the spices to create a delicious, healthy breakfast treat.

Spiced Banana Quinoa Pancakes

adapted from King Arthur Whole Grain Baking

Yield: 16 small pancakes, serves 4-6

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup quinoa flour
  • 1/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 2 Tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp allspice
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 2 ripe bananas, mashed well
  • 2 eggs

Directions:

  1. In a large mixing bowl, combine the dry ingredients.
  2. In a separate small bowl, combine the buttermilk, mashed bananas and eggs and whisk until smooth.
  3. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and gently whisk together until smooth.
  4. Heat a skillet or griddle over medium heat. Lightly grease with oil or butter. Use a 1/4-cup measure to pour the pancake batter onto the hot pan. Cook until the edges are set and there are bubbles on the surface, then flip and cook the other side for another few minutes until cooked through. Continue with the remaining batter.
  5. Serve warm with a drizzle of maple syrup for a lazy weekend brunch, or with a smear of jam or peanut butter for a quick weekday meal. Enjoy!
5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2011 8:58 am

    Perfect for fall!

  2. September 16, 2011 3:33 pm

    Oh yummy. These look perfect.

  3. A Tablespoon of Liz permalink
    September 17, 2011 7:03 am

    These look amazing, I love banana pancakes!

  4. September 18, 2011 6:54 am

    Well that sounds interesting and I guess I should try it. I have used quinoa flour in my baking a few times, but have always detected a slightly bitter note that I don’t like. I never get this when I just cook quinoa whole to eat instead of rice, so don’t quite understand. But your pancakes sound great, so I should give it another chance.

    • September 19, 2011 6:41 pm

      You should definitely give it a try! I was surprised by how well the banana and spices masked that bitter grassiness. Let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

