Skip to content

Streusel-Topped Banana Berry Muffins

August 25, 2011

You’re not sick of berries yet are you? I certainly hope not. Because I’m no where near done with them. Last week I walked nearly two miles uphill in the snow glorious sunshine to buy a half flat of organic raspberries for $8, and oh-so-lovingly cradled them in my arms on the walk home, careful not to bruise a single berry. If you still aren’t aware of my berry affection, this recent stream of berry-ridden posts should be proof. I hope you’re prepared for more…blackberry season is just around the corner!

These muffins were actually the result of some seriously black bananas, perfuming my pantry with their overripe, overwhelming aroma. If I didn’t use them soon, their fate was about to bring them to the dark depths of my garbage bin. But what to do with them? Believe it or not, I don’t have one of those go-to banana bread recipes ready to rescue doomed bananas. I go through this dilemma every time, scouring books and clippings for the perfect recipe this time.

This recipe came from the back of my bag of emmer flour and originally called for blueberries. But those raspberries in my fridge! They would be better, for sure. And the simple fact of the matter is, muffins are better with streusel, so I mixed up a crunchy oat topping, which turned these tasty, healthy muffins into a real breakfast treat. That’s right, they’re healthy! Whole grains, low fat, lots of fruit. So don’t feel a shred of guilt if you sink your teeth into one (or two or three) of these when they come out of the oven all nice and toasty.

Streusel-Topped Banana Berry Muffins

adapted from Bluebird Grain Farms

Yield: 12 muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup emmer flour
  • 1 cupwhole wheat pastry flour (or use 2 cups if you don’t have emmer flour)
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup mashed ripe banana (about 3 medium)
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 Tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 1/2 cups raspberries (or other berry of your choice)

Streusel:

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 2 Tbsp unsalted butter, melted

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400°F. Grease a 12-cup muffin pan or line with paper liners.
  2. In a medium mixing bowl, combine the flours, brown sugar, baking powder, and salt.
  3. In a large bowl, combine the mashed banana, buttermilk, milk, eggs and oil and whisk well to combine.
  4. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix gently until just combined. Add the raspberries and fold in gently.
  5. In a small bowl, combine the streusel ingredients. Scoop the muffin batter into the prepared muffin tin until nearly full, then top with the streusel mixture.
  6. Bake until golden brown and cooked through, about 20 minutes. Let cool in the pan 10 minutes. Eat warm and enjoy!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2011 10:45 am

    Great photos as usual. I’m no where near sick of summer fruit, I’m determined to go and pick blackberries tomorrow and my mother spied a damson tree today full of them. I’m going to make and blog blackberry jam soon, I can’t wait. I also really must get round to making a cobbler. These muffins sound really delicious by the way. I was a bit addicted to muffin last week actually.

  2. August 25, 2011 1:12 pm

    What an absolutely delightful recipe! These muffins look stunning- its no wonder you aren’t sick of berries yet with recipes like this!

  3. August 25, 2011 4:54 pm

    Mmm I love berry desserts, and can’t get enough of them this summer. These look delish!

  4. August 25, 2011 11:03 pm

    Oh yummy honey! Must have smelled divine! Great photos make them so appealing.
    WAnt one!

  5. August 30, 2011 4:10 pm

    What a great muffin. I love buttermilk and that you have a streussel topping.

  6. October 24, 2011 3:25 pm

    These look amazing. I have never heard of Emmer flour until I read this post, can you enlighten me?! Thanks. Poppy

    • October 24, 2011 8:09 pm

      Emmer is an ancient form of wheat and it has a great flavor and a lower gluten content so it’s a bit easier to digest than standard modern wheat. Get your hands on some and you’ll love it!

  7. October 27, 2011 4:45 am

    I’m guessing it would also help to lessen the sluggish feeling wheat can give too? I will look out for it. Thanks Carly!

Trackbacks

  1. Banana Cherry Whole-Wheat Muffins « A Cup of Mo
  2. Quick! Banana Coconut Bread « Tart to Heart
  3. Banana roundup «

Leave a Reply

