Skip to content

Apricot Chocolate-Oat Shortbread Cookies

July 25, 2011

I was worried I’d miss this month’s We Should Cocoa challenge since I only returned home a few days ago and, needless to say, I’ve been a bit busy getting life back on track since. Life. The real world. It can get a bit overwhelming at times, but onwards we must go! Fortunately, I had some free time on my hands this afternoon and some apricot (this month’s challenge ingredient) jam to use up in my fridge. I figured, let’s try something.

To be honest, I wasn’t too sure about the whole chocolate-apricot combo. I pretty much despise chocolate and orange together– would this be any different? Then I remembered the Sacher Torte, a famous cake made from chocolate sponge layered with rich chocolate ganache and…apricot jam! Maybe this could work.

And it did. Enough to make it worth turning on my oven on what was without question the hottest summer day we’ve had in Seattle this year (a whopping 82°F!). These Chocolate-Oat Shortbread Cookies are crumbly, rich, and positively irresistible on their own, but the sticky layer of melted apricot jam over the top makes them even better. Who would have thought? I’m converted.

Apricot Chocolate-Oat Shortbread Cookies

© Copyright 2011 Carly Sullivan, Tart to Heart

Yield: about 16 cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 oz bittersweet chocolate, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup apricot jam

Directions:

  1. In the bowl of your mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream the softened butter and powdered sugar until light and fluffy.
  2. Add the flour, oats, salt and vanilla and mixon low speed until combined. Add the chopped chocolate and mix to incorporate.
  3. Gather the dough into a bowl, shape into a flat disc and wrap in plastic wrap (as you would for pie dough). Refrigerate until chilled and slightly firm about 1 hour.
  4. Preheat the oven to 350°F and line a sheet pan with parchment paper.
  5. Remove the dough from the fridge and place on a lightly floured surface. Roll out to about 1/4-inch thickness (if it cracks as you roll it, just press it back together). Use a cookie cutter of your choice and cut out the dough. Place on the prepared sheet pan about 1/2-inch apart (they won’t spread much). Dollop about a teaspoon of apricot jam in the center of each cookie.
  6. Bake for 15 minutes until golden brown. Let cool at least 5 minutes before going anywhere near the cookies. The jam is nuclear, trust me (and the burns on my poor fingers). Remove to a wire rack to cool completely. Enjoy! (perhaps with a cup of apricot tea!)

Of course, these cookies would be great with all kinds of jam, so use what you got, but I would recommend the apricot even if you’re hesitant like I was. It’s a lovely combination. Very sophisticated without being pretentious.

On a side note: Julie and Julia is a wonderful movie, especially for a food blogger who needs a pick me up! Cookies help, too.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2011 7:54 am

    Now I want these for second breakfast! Look so cute and yummy.
    Hope that your apartment cooled off after the cooking.
    I love apricots!

  2. July 25, 2011 8:45 am

    I want to make apricot jam now too. The cookies look wonderful too.

  3. July 25, 2011 10:38 am

    Looks delicious – want one now:) Great pics.

  4. July 25, 2011 3:25 pm

    I’m with ya sister… choco and orange is a no go. These on the other hand, look amazing!

  5. July 28, 2011 4:29 am

    Ooh, that looks SO good!!

  6. July 29, 2011 8:02 am

    Glad you were won over to the apricot chocolate combo – I really like it. But really, what’s not to like in your fabulous jam shortbreads, you are truly inspired. Thanks for participating again and glad you made it.

  7. August 6, 2011 2:19 am

    I adore all your photos, really well done.

Leave a Reply

