Skip to content

Chocolate-Covered Strawberry Éclairs

June 13, 2011

If you’re anything like me, you’ve been eating strawberries like it’s your job ever since spring arrived and the mediocre berries from California actually started tasting sweet and juicy. I went through a 3-pound flat of strawberries from Costco in a week. I’m a little worried for when Washington (a.k.a the best) strawberries are in season– I fear my skin might turn red from too much consumption.

All side effects will be worth it.

Needless to say, when Choclette decided this month’s We Should Cocoa challenge had to involve chocolate and strawberries, I was ecstatic. The berries were already waiting in my fridge. Ideas whirred through my head. Where would they land? Brownies? Pie? Cookies? Éclairs…? Oh yes. Strawberry-filled. Chocolate-covered. Éclairs.

If you weren’t reading my blog back in the early days, you may not have read my post for Maple-Glazed Éclairs and my love affair with these indulgent pastries. Let’s just say I’m smitten.

These éclairs were no exception. Take a bite, and lush strawberry pastry cream spills onto your tongue. Made with tangy buttermilk, this cream has that same tart-sweet combination that makes cream cheese frosting so addicting. It’s a beautiful combination of flavors with the fresh berries and rich, dark chocolate. This is a summer treat that will stand out. Move over strawberry shortcake!

Chocolate-Covered Strawberry Éclairs

© Copyright 2011 Carly Sullivan, Tart to Heart

Yield: about 12 éclairs

Strawberry Buttermilk Pastry Cream

Ingredients:

Strawberry Compote:

  • 12 oz hulled strawberries, fresh or frozen, sliced or chopped
  • 2 Tbsp granulated sugar

Pastry Cream:

  • 3 cups buttermilk
  • 3 eggs
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup cornstarch
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 tsp vanilla

Directions:

  1. To make the compote, combine the strawberries and 2 Tbsp sugar in a small saucepan. Bring to a boil and cook, stirring occasionally and breaking apart the strawberry pieces as they soften (I find a whisk works really well for this). Continue to cook until the strawberries are completely broken down and the sauce thickens. Let cool.
  2. For the pastry cream, whisk together the eggs, sugar, cornstarch and salt in a large bowl until completely smooth.
  3. Meanwhile, heat the buttermilk over medium heat until it just begins to simmer (Buttermilk can separate when heated, so it’s important to heat it gently and not let it come to a full boil. If it does separate a little, don’t worry about it. It won’t affect the flavor.)
  4. Slowly pour the hot milk over the egg mixture, whisking constantly so as not to curdle the eggs. Once all the milk is incorporated, return the mixture to the pan and cook over medium heat until the mixture is thick, whisking constantly.
  5. Immediately remove from the pan into a wide shallow dish (like a 9×13 baking dish). Whisk in the vanilla and the cooled strawberry compote.
  6. Cover with plastic wrap touching the entire surface of the cream to prevent a skin from forming and refrigerate until completely cooled.

Pâte à Choux (Éclair dough)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup milk (any fat % is fine)
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, cubed
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 Tbsp sugar
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 4-6 eggs

Directions: (For more detailed photos of this process, check out the aforementioned Maple-Glazed Éclair post.)

  1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F. Line two sheet pans with parchment paper and, to make life easier when you go to pipe your éclairs, make a template and trace it on to your parchment paper. I make my éclairs about 1 inch wide by 4 inches long.
  2. In a medium saucepan, combine the milk, water, butter, sugar and salt and bring to a boil. Once it comes to a boil, gradually add the flour while whisking until the mixture comes together in a tight ball that resembles mashed potatoes.
  3. Remove the mixture to the bowl of your stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment (this process can also be done by hand with a large wooden spoon). Mix on medium speed to release the steam.
  4. Once the steaming has died down, add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition until smooth. You are aiming for a consistency that’s very smooth but not too loose. It should be squeezable like toothpaste without being runny.
  5. Transfer the dough to a piping bag fitted with a large plain round tip. Pipe the dough to fill your pre-made template (or freehand it!), moving slowly to get nice, even éclairs. Leave at least 1 inch between each éclair as they puff up quite a bit when baked.
  6. Once all your dough is used up, dip a fork in water and run it down the length of each éclair to smooth out any lumps and create pretty ridges on the tops of your éclairs.
  7. Bake at 425 degrees F for 10-12 minutes. Rotate the pans 180 degrees, lower the oven temperature to 375 degrees and continue to cook another 10-12 minutes until dark golden brown and dry. Turn off the oven, crack the door and let the eclairs dry for 10 minutes. Remove to a wire rack to cool completely.
  8. Once cool, use a small star piping tip to carefully drill two holes on the bottom ends of each éclair (alternatively, you could use a serrated knife to slice each éclair in half lengthwise and fill them that way).
  9. Fill a piping bag fitted with a small plain tip that will fit into the holes you made with the chilled pastry cream. Carefully fill each éclair with the cream, pointing the top towards the middle to fill completely until the éclair feels heavy. Set down on a clean tray and continue with the remaining éclairs. Keep cool until ready to glaze.

Chocolate Glaze

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 4 oz bittersweet chocolate, chopped
  • 1 Tbsp light corn syrup
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla

Directions:

  1. Combine the chocolate, corn syrup and salt in a small heatproof bowl.
  2. Meanwhile, heat the cream in a small saucepan to a simmer.
  3. Poor the hot cream over the chocolate and let sit 1 minute. Gently stir with a rubber spatula until the chocolate is melted and smooth. Add the vanilla.
  4. Let cool until barely warm and slightly thickened. Take a spoon and carefully pour the glaze down the length of each éclair. Clean up any drips with a clean fingertip. Continue with remaining éclairs. Allow the glaze to set and keep the éclairs chilled until ready to serve. They will last up to 4 days in the fridge, but are best served the same day as they will soften over time. Enjoy!
104 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2011 1:42 pm

    They sound, and look, delicious! My family might like those too…I wouldn’t want to have to eat them all myself. 😉 You take excellent food pictures.

  2. June 13, 2011 1:57 pm

    What a great idea for the challenge! These are superb! Strawberries are just the best right? Sweet, juicy bites if pure summer- what’s not love??

  3. June 14, 2011 7:24 am

    Wow… wow… and wowwww!
    I’m gona try these!!

  4. June 14, 2011 7:28 am

    Wonderful. You’re on Freshly Pressed. So deserved your posts are always fantastic. Which reminds me, why have I not subscribed? Great recipe, again.

    • June 14, 2011 4:01 pm

      I had a feeling something big had happened when my inbox was flooded with WordPress comment and like alerts! Very exciting 🙂 Thanks for reading my blog and always leaving such nice comments!

  5. June 14, 2011 7:34 am

    YUM! give me some of those.

  6. June 14, 2011 7:40 am

    I’m calling “unfair” all over this post today — I want some NOW!

    Great post — these look AMAZING…

    And now I’m sad I don’t have one. 😦

    Mikalee

  7. June 14, 2011 7:43 am

    I may have died and gone to heaven!

  8. June 14, 2011 8:25 am

    Sounds and looks delicious. Congratulations on being FP’d

  9. June 14, 2011 8:33 am

    Awesome! Love, love, love eclairs!

  10. June 14, 2011 8:39 am

    Your photos are amazing. This treat sounds like a great way to enjoy a bit of sunshine filled moment. Love strawberries and chocolate…sweet!

  11. June 14, 2011 8:50 am

    I see pictures of these foods so hungry, definitely nice

  12. June 14, 2011 8:52 am

    i love eclairs, and those look great

  13. June 14, 2011 9:03 am

    A fellow food blogger, nice to meet you! Congrats on the sweet Freshly Pressed post 😛

  14. June 14, 2011 9:06 am

    mmmmm…..looks so good! i luv going to costco for strawberries too!

  15. sheriexoxo permalink
    June 14, 2011 9:08 am

    This looks awesome!

  16. June 14, 2011 9:29 am

    These look to die for, and they look fun to make!
    Congratulations on Freshly Pressed!

  17. June 14, 2011 9:32 am

    Congrats on being Freshly Pressed. Good U! Good recipe, I can see why you are so smitten. Yum.

  18. June 14, 2011 9:37 am

    Looks amazing. Recipe seems complicated for my skill level though…lol!

  19. June 14, 2011 9:40 am

    I think you have a spelling error in your tags, just saying, but YUM! gosh I want one sooo bad! 😀

  20. June 14, 2011 9:44 am

    Delicious eclair photos. Thanks for posting these recipes. I’ve been looking for a good eclair recipe and yours sound and looks great. 🙂

  21. June 14, 2011 9:45 am

    Hello, these are excellent chocolate eclairs, Your blog is really well kept.
    Good luck
    Go see my blog.

  22. June 14, 2011 9:49 am

    Congrats on being FP! We have been in berry gluttony lately in our house – strawberries, raspberries, blackberries, blueberries. Just the way you write makes me hungry & the pictures just add to it – YUM!!! This will make me think twice before making strawberry shortcake, which I do love too.

    • June 14, 2011 4:23 pm

      Thank you! Berries are one of my very favorite things. When the blackberries are ripe around here in late summer I go nuts and pick bucketfuls! I still have some in my freezer from last summer. So glad you like my blog!

  23. June 14, 2011 9:53 am

    sounds yummy!

  24. June 14, 2011 9:55 am

    Delicious pictures! No need to eat the eclairs. I can just get a cup of coffee and look at the pictures.
    Congrats on being Freshly Pressed.

  25. June 14, 2011 10:21 am

    Mmmm….looks delicious.

  26. 20life permalink
    June 14, 2011 10:35 am

    Great Recipie !!

  27. June 14, 2011 10:37 am

    ¡Mmmmmm, yummy!

  28. June 14, 2011 10:37 am

    Berries are in season here. I must go pick some to make this recipe.

  29. thor27 permalink
    June 14, 2011 10:51 am

    This is a very nice blog I like it stop by my blog sometime.

  30. June 14, 2011 11:21 am

    These look lovely – strawberries and chocolate! Are they difficult to make?

    • June 14, 2011 4:26 pm

      I know eclairs look a bit intimidating, but no they aren’t difficult. I think the trickiest part is piping them if you’re not very comfortable with piping, but I know you can do it! And you can always just cut them in half and spread the filling inside to make life easier. Check out my other eclair post that I linked to for more step by step pictures 🙂

  31. June 14, 2011 11:23 am

    This looks heavenly! I think food (especially strawberries) can add so much happiness to our lives. You definitely deserve the “Irresistibly Sweet” Blog Award–http://thesunnygirl.com/?p=2085. Keep up the delicious posts!

    Keep shining,
    The Sunny Girl, Lauren Cook
    http//www.thesunnygirl.com

  32. June 14, 2011 11:25 am

    i cannot wait to try this. it combines two of my greatest loves!

  33. June 14, 2011 11:34 am

    I just gained 5 lbs reading this post…………..

  34. eva626 permalink
    June 14, 2011 11:34 am

    sounds and looks so fresh!!!!

  35. June 14, 2011 11:36 am

    Sounds and looks delish…I like you love strawberries and almost went crazy in the market last night looking for them (they were all out). The good thing about strawberries, besides tasting great, is they are a natural teeth whitener. So Smile…Congrats on being Freshly Pressed. 🙂

    • June 14, 2011 4:29 pm

      I never knew they were a teeth whitener- what a lovely perk! Thanks for your kind comments 🙂

  36. June 14, 2011 11:43 am

    Mmmm, those look amazing!

  37. emyjglover permalink
    June 14, 2011 11:46 am

    it looks delicious ^^ ♥

  38. June 14, 2011 12:11 pm

    I just found a great surprise for my wife tonight!!! can you do this for mangoes????

    • June 14, 2011 4:30 pm

      I don’t see why not! Let me know if you try it out 🙂 Sounds like a yummy idea

  39. Rocket Dog (Ergo Proxy) permalink
    June 14, 2011 1:00 pm

    Please stop making me hungry 😦

    I will bake this as soon as I get some of the ingredients

  40. June 14, 2011 1:55 pm

    Ohh i LOVE eclairs! I just wanna eat one with a girl one of these days, and we can share the strawberries too hehe:)

  41. June 14, 2011 1:58 pm

    these look fabulous! thanks for sharing.
    http://www.modestcupboard.wordpress.com

  42. June 14, 2011 2:06 pm

    Wow…these look amazing! Can’t wait to give them a try. 🙂

  43. Jade permalink
    June 14, 2011 2:11 pm

    Definitely would love these! And I’ve also been a huge fan of strawberries since…well since the moment I could basically walk and understand what i was eating XD

  44. June 14, 2011 2:18 pm

    Oh no! I just finished my after-lunch cookie, and now you are making me hungry for dessert again. Those eclairs sound amazing.

  45. June 14, 2011 3:21 pm

    Stunning pictures and delectable descriptions. Congratulations on being FP

  46. anonnickus permalink
    June 14, 2011 3:28 pm

    Some of us are reading on an empty stomach here. And this is the reward? Nice.

  47. June 14, 2011 3:35 pm

    Ah, loved the pictures! It looked soo god! Why cant norwegian mothers start making this for breakfast? 🙂

  48. June 14, 2011 3:39 pm

    mmmm, yummy!!! i’m a sucker for eclairs!!!

  49. Everyone Look Busy (Dominic) permalink
    June 14, 2011 4:45 pm

    These must taste awesome!

  50. June 14, 2011 5:20 pm

    Ah Chocolate! Ah Strawberries! AH! Chocolate covered strawberries!! Now add the eclair…drooling!!
    Congrats on being FP!

  51. June 14, 2011 5:41 pm

    These look mouthwatering! 🙂

  52. June 14, 2011 6:50 pm

    First time on your blog….made me hungry….great pics….

  53. Erin permalink
    June 14, 2011 7:32 pm

    Carly, I love your blog! If you’d ever like to guest post for The Happy Mouth, please let me know! 🙂
    thehappymouthblog.com

  54. June 14, 2011 7:37 pm

    Éclairs are one of my favorite desserts – absolutely amazing. Add strawberries? Even better.
    While in France I picked up a few fresh éclairs, and found them to be the best I’d ever had.

  55. June 14, 2011 7:52 pm

    Looks great!! The pics are fantastic.

  56. Frances Yeo permalink
    June 14, 2011 8:13 pm

    These look and sound so awesome. I’d try making them myself if only we had an oven at home. Congrats on getting FP =)

  57. hissimplelook permalink
    June 14, 2011 8:45 pm

    These look so good! Thanks for sharing this with us.

  58. June 14, 2011 9:11 pm

    I SO WANT TO TRY THIS! It sounds so very tasty. Maybe I can get my girls to make them for my bridal shower! 🙂

  59. June 14, 2011 9:46 pm

    Wow! These look AMAZING. I want to try this in my next recipe adventure…just wrote about a pie failure on my blog http://tomatoesinthebedroomblog.wordpress.com

    any suggestions?!?

    Cal

  60. June 14, 2011 11:00 pm

    These look amazing! What other eclairs have you tried, and which did you like best? The most daring thing I ever did with strawberries is “rescue” a past-their-prime frozen clump by turning them into little pies. That wasn’t as bad as it sounds, but this sounds way better! By the way, have you ever tried MI strawberries?

  61. June 14, 2011 11:13 pm

    YUM….YUM……YUM……Yummmyyy…..

  62. Sanjiv Khamgaonkar permalink
    June 14, 2011 11:21 pm

    yum, yum and yum again!

  63. June 14, 2011 11:37 pm

    my god!
    drool times 3

  64. June 14, 2011 11:39 pm

    hey those were awesome…surely will try out some of dem…do let me know when u post in some more

  65. June 15, 2011 12:04 am

    Just started blogging! I love strawberries too. I’m an aspiring pastry chef so desserts like these are a must in my life. Another way to go for the eclairs would have been fresh strawberry butter-cream filled eclairs. I personally love it with mint. I will definitely keep up to date on your posts. Nice Job!

  66. June 15, 2011 1:03 am

    waw nice food

  67. June 15, 2011 1:15 am

    I’m feeling very hungry now. They sound delicious! 🙂

  68. June 15, 2011 2:26 am

    sepertinya lezat sekali.. yummy.. ^_^

  69. June 15, 2011 4:07 am

    Thank you so much for this post. I was just thrilled to see it as a featured blog on the wordpress site. I LOVE eclairs but I imagine the strawberry filling rounds them out perfectly. I’ll post pictures when I make my own attempt. Looking forward to more 🙂

  70. June 15, 2011 5:14 am

    Ahhh these are gorgeous!! What’s not to love about strawberries, chocolate, and pastries???

  71. June 15, 2011 5:32 am

    Looks so delicious and yummy. Great Recipe

  72. June 15, 2011 5:54 am

    They sound delicious!

  73. June 15, 2011 6:04 am

    Wow.!!!!!! amazing! I’m gona try these!!

  74. liwenya permalink
    June 15, 2011 6:19 am

    doof ,i like it.

  75. June 15, 2011 6:26 am

    Look delicious :)))
    Would go well with my strawberry sundae!

  76. June 15, 2011 6:46 am

    omg you had me at chocolate. how did you get your blog on the freshley pressed?

  77. triforceconsultingservices permalink
    June 15, 2011 6:46 am

    Hi! carlysulli

    Really your blog is awesome and useful to me

  78. wysjennifer permalink
    June 15, 2011 7:00 am

    just signed up with wordpress and couldn’t help but click on your strawberry/chocolate eclairs post! they look AMAZING. and your blog is wonderful. keep up the good work!

  79. June 15, 2011 7:26 am

    That looks fantastic!!! Yummi!! 🙂 I definitely have to try them! Reminds me of my time in London where I used to eat them a lot. Thanks for the post! 🙂

  80. June 15, 2011 9:19 am

    Those look delicious! I think I might make them. 🙂

  81. June 15, 2011 2:18 pm

    mmmm TASTYY:)

    and Congrats!

  82. June 15, 2011 2:29 pm

    I do so love your entries Carly, you come up with such great ideas and your photos are always stunning. Your eclairs sound fantastic and CT would kill to have some of these made for him. I’m rather wary of giving these a go, they are just the sort of thing I would mess up! Thank you for taking part again.

    • June 15, 2011 3:46 pm

      Thanks so much Choclette! I love participating and thanks for giving some great challenges. My We Should Cocoa posts are some of the most popular on my blog… I think people really like chocolate!

  83. June 15, 2011 3:49 pm

    They sound so tasty! Luv the pictures, too.

  84. June 15, 2011 7:40 pm

    yum – I am totally going to try this!

  85. Jade permalink
    June 16, 2011 2:54 am

    Hey!
    I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award! Let me know if you accept the nomination and keep up the great work!

    Here are the rules:

    1. Thank the person who awarded you and link back to them in your post.
    2. Tell 7 Random facts about yourself.
    3. Pass the award on to 7 new found (or old favorite) bloggers.
    4. Contact each blogger you want to pass the award on to and let them know you’ve done so, and let the giver of your award know you accept it… or not.

    Lots of Love

    Jade

  86. June 18, 2011 9:31 am

    These look so delicious!

  87. June 18, 2011 9:02 pm

    I am drooling all over my keyboard!!! These eclairs looks AMAZING. Your photos and recipes always look beautiful – great blog!

  88. June 19, 2011 6:58 am

    Hi,
    I saw your blog on freshly pressed and actually went out and bought strawberries on account of your post. I wanted to nominate you for the Versatile Blogger Award. Accepting comes with a few rules….

    1. Thank the person who awarded you and link back to them in your post.
    2. Tell 7 Random facts about yourself.
    3. Pass the award on to 7 new found (or old favorite) bloggers.
    4. Contact each blogger you want to pass the award on to and let them know you’ve done so, and let the giver of your award know you accept it… or not.

    Congrats!

    Best,

    Koritt

  89. realanonymousgirl2011 permalink
    June 20, 2011 10:30 pm

    They look to die for! Although, the filling alone sounds dangerous to the thighs!

  90. June 27, 2011 9:46 am

    I love your recipe and your blog, I also want to mention that with this puff pastry if you feel intimidated by pastry bags and tip, you can also make cream puffs by spooning the pastry onto baking sheet as well, we have done this for decades. Same item different shape.

  91. July 3, 2011 12:51 am

    OMG! These bad boys would have to be on the table for my last meal I think. YUM!

  92. July 3, 2011 10:48 pm

    These look awesome!

  93. August 22, 2011 8:59 am

    nice pictures!!
    http://rodposse.com/

  94. Feoli permalink
    September 6, 2011 10:21 am

    Marvelous post, please do publish more posts!

Trackbacks

  1. Strawberry Eclairs: Getting Fresh | Roaring Tiger

Leave a Reply

