Skip to content

Feeling Fall-Like: Pumpkin Oat Pancakes

June 11, 2011

I know, I know. It definitely ’tis not the season for anything with pumpkin, but, despite it being June, it’s been rather gray around Seattle aside from the occasional burst of sunshine. Not enough to feel like summer. Besides, my mom, fearing another pumpkin shortage like we had in 2009, bought me several enormous cans of pumpkin puree last fall just in case. And even after making two pumpkin pies, pumpkin cheesecake bars and pumpkin ravioli during the fall and winter months, two of said cans were still tucked away in my pantry.

Also, I was seriously craving pancakes. So much so that I almost– almost– made these for dinner last night. I restrained myself. And made them as soon as I woke up this morning. These really are a fantastic Saturday morning treat. Especially if your “summer” has you less than enthusiastic to venture outdoors.

Pumpkin Oat Pancakes

© Copyright 2011 Carly Sullivan, Tart to Heart

Serves: 2-4

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour (or all-purpose flour)
  • 1/4 cup rolled oats
  • 2 Tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/4 tsp ground cardamom
  • 1/4 tsp freshly grated nutmeg
  • (or substitute all of the above with 2-3 tsp pumpkin pie spice)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 cups buttermilk
  • 2 Tbsp unsalted butter, melted

Directions:

  1. In a large mixing bowl, combine the flour, oats, sugar, spices, baking powder, baking soda and salt.
  2. Add the pumpkin, egg, buttermilk and melted butter. Whisk until smooth. Let the batter rest 5 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, heat a large nonstick skillet or griddle over medium heat and lightly grease with butter or oil.
  4. Scoop the batter by the 1/4-cup-fuls onto preheated pan (or larger if you want bigger pancakes), leaving plenty of room between each to allow for spreading. Cook the first side until the edges look dry and a few bubbles form on the surface. Flip and cook another few minutes until cooked through.
  5. Serve immediately with butter and lots of real maple syrup. Enjoy!

I won’t judge you if you make these for dinner.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2011 10:46 am

    Everyone needs to have a breakfast night every once in a while. 😉 These sound more like a dessert though! I had corn pops for breakfast. Yum?

  2. June 12, 2011 8:54 pm

    Yummy, these look great. Doesn’t matter if it’s June–I love pumpkin any time of the year! 🙂

  3. June 14, 2011 9:32 am

    Holy Cannoli. These look delicious.

  4. Jade permalink
    June 14, 2011 2:09 pm

    Looks delicious! Nice blog, keep it up 🙂

  5. July 18, 2011 1:51 am

    Oh my goodness, it all looks so yummy! I’m missing pumpkin spice too, wish it was fall already! Thanks for sharing!! Have you tried cinnamon swirl pancakes? I did a post on it, please check it out and let me know what you think! I’m new to this blogging thing and I love checking out fellow foodie blogs 🙂
    http://shecooksandheeats.wordpress.com/2011/07/13/cinnamon-swirl-pancakes/

Leave a Reply

