Skip to content

Bacon Date Honey Bread

May 11, 2011

If you’ve ever tasted a bacon-wrapped date, then you probably understand my sultry love affair with this sweet and porky tidbit. You may even have developed similar tendencies to order them whenever they appear on the menu, no matter the occasion, no matter what else is on offer. You just can’t help yourself. In fact, you may order several plates of them so you can pop one after another into your mouth until you’re stuffed to the brim.

If you’ve never tasted a bacon-wrapped date, go find some. Now. You can thank me later.

I made a bunch of these tasty morsels for my cousin’s bridal shower a few weekends ago and they werewuickly devoured, well before even a dent was detectable in the other plates of food. Why are these sooo good? some asked. I wanted to take the credit and chock up the success to my culinary prowess, but I didn’t invent this delicacy. Whoever did should get a metal. I big, gold, shiny one. Embossed with a bacon-wrapped date.

I’m getting side-tracked. It’s easy for me to drift off into a bacon-wrapped daydream when I talk about these things. Luckily, a slice of this bread will allow me to linger among such swiney dreams. I wanted to create a baked treat with all the scrumptious qualities that make bacon-wrapped dates so irresistible. It’s all about the perfect balance of sweet, salty and somewhat sticky. This bread hits all the marks.

Bacon Date Honey Bread

© Copyright 2011 Carly Sullivan, Tart to Heart

Yield: 1 loaf, about 12 servings

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup date crumbles (such as Bob’s Red Mill) or chopped, pitted dates
  • 5 slices bacon, cooked and crumbled
  • 1/2 cup honey, plus more to brush on top
  • 4 Tbsp butter, melted
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F and grease a standard loaf pan (I might have used some of the bacon drippings to grease the pan!)
  2. In a large bowl, combine the flours, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Add the dates and bacon and toss to coat with the flour.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together the honey, butter, eggs and buttermilk until smooth. Add to the dry ingredients and stir gently to combine.
  4. Pour the batter into the prepare loaf pan and cover loosely with foil. Bake 25 minutes, then remove the foil. Bake another 20-25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
  5. While still hot and in the pan, brush the top of the loaf with honey. Let cool in the pan at least 10 minutes before removing to a wire rack to cool completely. Cut off a slice (or two!), dig in and enjoy!

These would also make great muffins!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2011 4:35 pm

    I kind of feel like that dog in the commercial with bacon on my brain. This is such a cool recipe, so inventive on one hand. Makes perfect sense on the other.

    • May 11, 2011 4:41 pm

      So glad you liked it! Sorry to put bacon on your brain the rest of the day…well, actually, no I’m not.

  2. May 18, 2011 9:56 pm

    Love this! I am a date loaf fan, so I think bacon would take it to another level.

Leave a Reply

