Skip to content

Tart to Heart Turns 1!

April 26, 2011

Today is a momentous occasion! Today marks the one year anniversary of Tart to Heart! Hurrah! I’ve truly loved the blogging experience this past year: creating recipes, sharing them with you, and hearing all of your amazing feedback. I really value all of your comments and appreciate every one of you who reads my blog. THANK YOU!

I thought of making a blog birthday cake, but after the Easter Torte I made a few days ago and the birthday tart I’m making for my dad’s birthday tomorrow, it just didn’t happen. So in honor of this event I’ve decided to give Tart to Heart a little face lift, share my top five recipes from this past year, as well as my favorite food blogs and cookbooks. I will, however, accept blog birthday gifts 🙂

Top 5 Favorite Recipes

Key Lime Truffle Tart– Rich, tangy, crumbly and creamy, a perfect medley of flavors and textures, and such a breeze to put together! Make this and imagine yourself on a beach bathing in the sun. When my dad requested this for his birthday, I was thrilled to have an excuse to make it again!

Irish Coffee Cream Pies– Who needs boozy drinks when you can eat a boozy dessert? A crisp, flaky crust holds a smooth coffee cream filling with a bit of that whiskey fire. Mmm…who wants another round?

Earl Grey Chocolate Cupcakes– There are those flavors that are just meant to go together. Bananas and peanut butter, apples and cinnamon, maple and pecans, and now you know one more: chocolate and Early Grey tea. After being featured on foodpress.com, this is the most-viewed post on my blog.

Cinnamon Cranberry Bread– This was the best loaf I baked all year (and I baked a lot of bread!) and convinced me yet again of spelt flour’s incredible flavor and versatility. Plain, toasted, with butter or jam, this bread’s spicy aroma was completely irresistible.

Blackberry Curd Tartlets– I’ll know it’s officially summer when the blackberry bushes are heavy with ripe fruit, I can pick bucketfuls of berries, and make these incredible, bite-size treats. If you think lemon curd is good, you just have to try blackberry curd…because it’s so much better!

Top 5 Favorite Food Blogs

Technicolor Kitchen

Une Gamine dans la Cuisine

baking = love

Smitten Kitchen

Tartelette

Top 5 Favorite Cookbooks

King Arthur Whole Grain Baking

Bon Appetit Desserts

Tartine

Pie

Good to the Grain

Those are just a few of my favorite things. I’d love to know, what have been your favorite recipes this year? What do you like about Tart to Heart? Is there something you’d like to see more of? This blog isn’t just for me, it’s for you!

Thank you for visiting Tart to Heart. I look forward to the year to come!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2011 1:12 pm

    Happy blog birthday! Your recipes are such a delight, my love.

    The highlights of the last year for me:

    1. Classiest presentation was definitely the Cake for Carnevale (https://carlysulli.wordpress.com/2011/03/07/schiacciata-alla-fiorentina/)

    2. Sexiest cameo goes to the girl in Warm Waffles for Fall Mornings (https://carlysulli.wordpress.com/2010/11/02/spiced-waffles/)

    3. And the dish that I wanted to eat so much it made me regret leaving Seattle was the tart fruit compote custard thingy (https://carlysulli.wordpress.com/2011/04/01/april-raspberry-rhubarb-fools/)

    Mmm, keep ’em coming!

    • April 26, 2011 2:19 pm

      Thanks Coop! I promise your care package will happen soon! You’re the best!

  2. April 26, 2011 3:01 pm

    Congratulations! More delightful, delicious years to come! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

