Skip to content

Irish Brown Bread Pancakes

March 17, 2011

If you’ve ever been to Ireland, I’m sure you had a taste of Irish brown bread. And I’m sure you fell in love. I certainly did. Every time I think of Ireland I get a nostalgic longing for a warm slice of this traditional loaf. A quick and easy soda bread, brown bread is on the table of every Irish home and it seems every home baker has their own variation. No matter what, though, you’re going to find a dense, tender and wonderfully crumbly whole wheat slice perfect for smearing with rich Irish butter and blackcurrant jam.

I have my own version of this bread as well and had every intention of baking a loaf this morning. The necessary buttermilk was purchased yesterday and waited expectantly in my fridge. But this morning for St. Patrick’s Day I decided to shake things up a bit. My other favorite thing to make with buttermilk is my mom’s famous recipe for buttermilk pancakes. Could my two loves be combined? Does brown bread + pancakes = delicious?!?! I had to give it a try.

And they were perfect. Fluffy, soft and richly flavored from the whole wheat and buttermilk. Very deserving of a healthy dollop of blackcurrant jam and even some maple syrup. If it’s too late to make some for breakfast this morning, these Brown Bread Pancakes will be the perfect hangover cure tomorrow! I think even your foggy, post-Guinness head can handle whipping up a batch!

Besides, don’t they look good?

Irish Brown Bread Pancakes

© Copyright 2011 Carly Sullivan, Tart to Heart

Serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 Tbsp wheat bran
  • 1 Tbsp wheat germ
  • 1 Tbsp rolled oats
  • 1 Tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/4 cups buttermilk
  • 2 Tbsp unsalted butter, melted

Directions:

  1. In a medium mixing bowl, whisk together the first 9 ingredients (flour through salt) until thoroughly combined.
  2. Add the egg, buttermilk and melted butter and whisk until thoroughly combined. Set aside.
  3. Heat a large nonstick skillet or griddle over medium heat and lightly grease with oil or butter.
  4. Pour the batter onto your preheated skillet to any desired size, leaving at least an inch between each pancake to prevent them spreading together.
  5. When the edge of the pancake looks dry and there are a few bubbles on the surface, gently flip to cook the other side. Serve warm with your favorite pancake trimmings! Enjoy!

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2011 10:33 am

    With all those whole grains these have to be healthy. I’ll eat two stacks.

  2. Recipe Chefs permalink
    March 17, 2011 11:16 am

    Excellent recipe. Thanks for sharing this post. I really enjoy reading your blog. Feel free to check out our recipes.

    Recipe Chefs –

    http://recipechefs.wordpress.com

    • March 17, 2011 11:24 am

      Thanks so much! I’m so glad you like my blog and I’ll be sure to check yours out. Happy St Patty’s Day!

  3. March 17, 2011 1:37 pm

    Nice idea lassie! Happy St. Pat’s to you! Hope you corned beef comes out tender and tasty.
    love, mom

Leave a Reply

