Skip to content

Drunken Shrimp

February 6, 2011

My dad and I made a deal: he could choose the dessert, and I could choose what he made for dinner. You see, my dad has been a little miffed that he misses out on many of my culinary creations since he lives 150 miles away. I had to make it up to him, and it seemed like a fair proposition to me. My dad is an excellent chef in his own right. If I want a juicy, flavorful roast or a perfectly cooked piece of salmon, he is the one to go to. His signature dish, though? It’s drunken shrimp.

These huge, succulent shrimp are marinated in a combination of silver tequila, fresh cilantro, garlic and potent chili pepper flakes. Quickly sauteed, served over some rice and black beans, and spritzed with fresh lime juice, these shrimp take your taste buds on a a trip south of the border. All you need is an ice-cold cerveza and you’ll swear you can feel the sun on your face.

Drunken Shrimp

Ingredients:

  • 24 large shrimp (about 2 lbs), peeled and deveined
  • 2 Tbsp silver tequila
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 Tbsp paprika
  • 1 Serrano or jalapeno chili, stemmed and seeded (My dad substitutes with about 1/16 tsp of a very powerful blend of dried habanero and ghost pepper flakes. You could use your typical crushed red pepper flakes, about 1/4 tsp).
  • ½ cup cilantro leaves

Directions:

  1. Place the shrimp in a non-reactive bowl. Combine all other ingredients in a blender or food processor and puree until smooth. Pour over the shrimp and toss to coat well. Cover and refrigerate for 1 hour.
  2. Heat a large skillet over high heat until very hot and lightly coat with oil. Add the shrimp and marinade and cook, tossing, until the shrimp all turn bright pink and are cooked through, about 2 minutes per side (this will depend on the size of your shrimp).
  3. Remove to a large platter and serve immediately with rice and beans (or tortillas– these would be a great soft taco filling!). Squeeze some fresh lime juice on top and enjoy!

As for my contribution? My dad requested a French Apple Tart, and the recipe will be soon to follow!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Faux Stepford Wife permalink
    June 14, 2011 4:52 pm

    I love seafood. I’m going to try this.

Leave a Reply

