Skip to content

Warm Waffles for Fall Mornings

November 2, 2010

Today was a spectacular fall day, and we were blessed with a similarly beautiful day a few weeks ago when my friends and I decided to take a trip to the pumpkin patch. The sun was out, the red and golden leaves shimmering from the previous night’s rain. It was definitely a day for embracing the new season. With that in mind, it seemed only fitting to start the day off with a warm, hearty breakfast.

I’d borrowed my mom’s ancient waffle iron a while back. Though it looked like it might catch on fire while using it (much the same fear I have when using her circa 1982 clothes iron), I was determined to make good use of it. Thoughts of Dottie’s ginger pancakes in mind (see this post), I decided to whip together a batch of similarly-spiced, whole grain waffles. And why not gild the lily with some blackberry compote?


Spiced Spelt Waffles

© Copyright 2010 Carly Sullivan, Tart to Heart

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole spelt flour (you can do all whole wheat flour if you don’t have spelt flour, but I’d recommend finding it, it’s delicious!)
  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 Tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 2 eggs, separated
  • 2 cups buttermilk
  • 6 Tbsp butter, melted

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl, sift together the dry ingredients (if the bran of the flours doesn’t fit through your sifter, be sure to dump it back into the bowl, that’s the good stuff!).
  2. In a small bowl, combine the egg yolks, buttermilk, and melted butter.
  3. In another bowl, beat the egg whites to stiff peaks.
  4. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and whisk together gently. Carefully fold in the egg whites. Allow the batter to rest while you heat your waffle iron.
  5. The amount of batter you need, the cooking time, and the number of waffles you get from this recipe will depend entirely on your waffle iron. Mine is about a 10-inch circle and yielded 6 waffles, each taking about 4 minutes to cook.

Blackberry Compote

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup fresh or frozen blackberries
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 1/3 cup sugar

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a small saucepan and bring to a boil. Cook until thick and syrupy, about 10-15 minutes.

Now that is truly a thing of beauty. After some worrisome initial smoking from the “Toastmaster” (as this ancient appliance is named), the waffles browned to perfection and their sultry scent filled the kitchen. The spices, Ali noted, were apparent but not overwhelming. Served with a hearty dollop of sweet berries and warm maple syrup, these waffles prepped us for the pumpkin hunt to come.

Though Ali may like to focus on the overflow of batter oozing from the waffle iron on my first attempt, I’m pretty darn certain she appreciated my hard work:

In case you’re wondering, that look on her face is bliss. And you can have it, too. If you make these waffles.

Are there any fall recipes you’d like to see my try out? A classic pie you want to make for Thanksgiving? A new use for pumpkin? Let me know!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathy permalink
    November 2, 2010 8:18 pm

    Hi Carly,
    I LOVE your blog. Wish I was more inspired to actually make these recipes but I can taste them anyway. Keep up the good work and come visit me in SB and cook.
    Love, Kathy

  2. November 3, 2010 9:08 am

    Would rather have you use the word “vintage” than “ancient” as both the iron and the waffle maker are way younger than me! Also a 1982 iron is only a few years older than you. And, they don’t make them like they used to….
    Come make me breakfast sometime. You have to make these Thanksgiving weekend! love, mother

  3. Ali permalink
    November 3, 2010 8:20 pm

    Those waffles were, in fact, 100% drool worthy and 200% bliss inspiring as you can see by how fully I’ve stuffed my face with them.

    I am shocked you didn’t post at least one of the first-attempt overflow pics! Deliciously disasterous.

  4. Amber McKenna permalink
    November 3, 2010 9:05 pm

    Those look amazingly delicious, I’m definitely going to try your recipe…or you could come down to Portland and make them for me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

