Skip to content

A New Twist on Turkey…and a Contest!

August 31, 2010

Before I get to the recipe, we need to talk. I appreciate the support of everyone who is reading my blog and passing it along to their friends, family, etc. It encourages me to keep posting since I feel like there are people out there listening! (Well, reading). That being said, I think it’s time for a blog makeover! I want this thing to really shine. While I’m working on a new design and improving my photography skills, I have a job for you. And it’s pretty darn important. NAME THIS BLOG! I want something fun and catchy, so be creative. I know you can help me come up with some awesome ideas. Keep in mind that my focus is baking and using real, delicious ingredients. Tarts are going to start having a big role here, as well (stay tuned for a cocktail-inspired treat!). As further incentive, I will send the winner of this naming challenge a batch of homemade cookies, bars, or other transport-friendly baked good of their choice! So hop to it folks!

Now for the recipe.

I love using ground turkey because it is so healthy and versatile. It can also be a bit pricey, so whenever it goes on sale, I stock up! Last week, I pulled one of my 1/2-lb frozen portions out of the freezer and decided I needed to try something new with it. My go-tos tend to be turkey meatloaf (the Barefoot Contessa’s recipe is my favorite), or BBQ turkey burgers. As you may know, lean ground turkey can be, well, really boring. Fortunately, that means it can stand up to a lot of flavor. The recipe I found adds sweet and spicy zip to this basic protein. I wish I could say I came up with it myself, but I must pass on my gratitude to the good people of Cooking Light for their endless supply of healthy eats!

Apricot Turkey Burgers

Ingredients:

  • ¾ cup canned chickpeas, drained, rinsed, and roughly chopped
  • ½ cup dried apricots, chopped
  • 1/3 cup shallots, minced
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ½ tsp ground ginger
  • ½ tsp ground cumin
  • ½ tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 ½ lbs lean ground turkey
  • Buns and feta cheese, to serve

Directions:

  1. Place chopped apricots in a small bowl and cover with hot water to re-hydrate. Meanwhile, prepare the grill.
  2. Combine the chopped chickpeas, drained apricots, shallots, spices and turkey in a large bowl. Mix with your hands to gently distribute the ingredients. Divide the mixture into 6 and shape ½-inch thick patties. Make a small divot in the center of each.
  3. Lightly grease the grill and cook patties about 6 minutes per side. When cook, a thermometer in the center should read 165°F.
  4. Serve on toasted buns with hummus and crumbled feta cheese.

When I made this, I halved the recipe for the turkey I had on hand and easily made 4 smaller-sized burgers from it. Each small patty was plenty for me when served on a bun, but if you decide to go bunless you might want the larger patty to fill you up. The addition of feta cheese was my idea and it really brought this burgers up a notch! I also used Sabra chipotle hummus for an extra kick, but the original recipe called for tzatziki sauce which would be great as well. It was also my decision to rehydrate the apricots since I didn’t want them to pull any moisture out of the very lean meat while it cooked. Served up with some Spicy Grilled Sweet Potatoes, their burgers were fantastic and will definitely be added to my repertoire. Wondering what to do with your leftover chickpeas? Make hummus!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

