Skip to content

My New Neighborhood Market

July 22, 2010

When I was clued into the upcoming debut of a new Seattle market, I immediately marked the date on my calendar and spent the next few months counting down the days… It’s no secret I’m a HUGE fan of farmers markets, but Seattle has markets aplenty, so why was I so excited by this newcomer? How about because it’s ONE BLOCK away from my apartment!

That’s right– last Thursday, July 15, was the opening day of the Olympic Sculpture Park Farmers Market! Needless to say I was there at 3:30 on the dot to witness this momentous occasion.

First off, I don’t think there is any more beautiful spot for a market in all of Seattle (especially on a beautiful sunny day like it was last week). The Olympics glistened across the sound, Elliot Bay shimmered blue, and Calder’s iconic “Eagle” kept watch over all.

There were many familiar faces at the market, such as Mt Townsend Creamery’s decadent cheeses, Skagit River Ranch’s pasture raised meats, and Patty Pan’s scrumptious tamales. I enjoyed one of Whidbey Island Ice Cream Company’s mocha bars (half of which I ended up slurping off my hand!), purchased a box of raspberries, loganberries and marionberries from Jessie’s Berries, a few sweet and juicy peaches, and some end-of-the-season fava beans.

There were many more tempting offerings, such as artisan breads, decadent cupcakes, fresh summer squash by the bucketfuls, multicolor beets and tomatoes, apple cider, and apricots! The coolest thing I saw? Garbanzo bean plants!

Also on offering at the market are chef demos, wine tasting, and live music. All these things happen later in the evening and with my current class schedule I unfortunately can’t stay to watch. Luckily, the OSP market has a blog where they post a recap of the demo and provide recipes. The market runs every Thursday from 3:30 to 7:30pm. I can’t wait to see what other new booths pop up throughout the season!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 22, 2010 8:33 pm

    You lucky duck! Sounds like you are having fun. Keep it up, see you soon.

Leave a Reply

